Frequently asked questions
Q: Do I really need to take a premarital course?
A: By taking a premarital course, couples prepare for the life changing events that occur after marriage. Knowing how to strengthen and maintain your bond together as a couple, is the most important aspect of our course. Taking a premarital course has been shown to help reduce divorces rate by 30% to 50%. Aside from these obvious benefits, the course certificate allows couples to skip the 3-day waiting period and receive a $25 discount on their Florida marriage license fee.
Q: What is covered in this premarital prep course?
A: This is a 10-module, video-based course that covers 10 fundamental areas of marital life:
Born to connect
Avoiding destructive cycles of disconnection
Understanding your triggers
3 key elements behind marital satisfaction
Maintaining emotional safety
Your values, your essence
Let’s talk finances
Are you ready for children?
Living happily forever after
Q: How long is the course?
A: Florida State Statutes require couples to spend 4 hours taking their premarital preparation course. You can complete the course at your own pace. You have access to the course for 6 months and can stop, pause, and sign back in whenever you want.
All 67 Florida counties will honor your certificate for up to a1 year from the date of completion.
Q: Does the price of the course cover both of us or is the price per individual?
A: The cost of our course is per couple. It covers both of you.
Q: Is this course approved in my county?
A: Yes! We maintain written documentation for our approval and listing in all 67 counties, under the name of Liliana Wolf PHD, LMHC. If you want to verify our status prior to taking the course, click here.
Q: How do I skip the Florida marriage license waiting period?
A: Take a premarital course from an approved provider and show the certificate of completion. Since our course is approved in all 67 Florida counties, all you need to do, is print the certificate of completion which automatically generates upon completion of the course. Simply take the certificate with you to the County Court where you are applying for your marriage license. The clerk of the Court will waive the 3-day waiting period.
Q: I heard I could get a discount on my marriage license with this course, is that true?
A: Yes. When you present your certificate of completion during the marriage license application, you will waive the 3-day waiting period and receive a $25 discount on your marriage license fee, (as long as one of you is a Florida resident).
Q: My fiancé is currently in another city/state, can we still take this online premarital counseling course?
A: Absolutely, no problem. In these instances, simply share your course log-in and password with each other. You will be able to watch the videos and discuss the assignments afterwards. This allows you to complete the course work together. In order to make the best of this premarital preparation, we encourage you to use various mediums to meet and discuss the course exercises such as: FaceTime, Zoom, Skype, etc.
Q: Am I able to take this course on my mobile device?
A: Our course is designed to work on all mobile devices, tablets, and personal computers. It supports all cell phones operating systems, Apple and Android.
Q: Do I have to take this course all at once?
A: No. You can take this course at your leisure. You have total control over the time frames necessary for the completion of the 4-hour course. You can start, pause, stop, and resume the course whenever you want. If you want a certificate of completion as soon as possible, you always have the option to take the courseit in one sitting.
You have access to the course for 6 months and your county will recognize your certificate of completion for a year from the date of completion.
Q: Can I take this course at any time?
A: Yes! Our course is available to you immediately and given that it is 100% online, you have access to it 24 /7 for up to 365 days from the time of purchase.
Q: Is there a test in the course? Is it hard?
A: Not at all. No test is required beyond the 4-hour study requirement.
Q: How long will it take for me to get my certificate of completion?
A: Upon completion of the course, your official certificate will be automatically generated for you to print immediately.
Q: Do I have to get my marriage license in the county that I live in?
A: No. You can obtain your marriage license in any of the 67 Florida counties.
Q: How do I get my marriage license? What do I need to bring to the courthouse?
A: When applying for your marriage license, you both must appear in person. Aside from your premarital preparation course of completion, you will both need to present a valid photo ID (driver’s license, passport, or military ID) and your social security number. If either of you were previously married, you will need to show proof of dissolution of marriage. Click Here
Q: I'm going to Florida for a destination wedding. Do I qualify for the marriage license discount?
A: The answer is yes, if at least one of you is a Florida resident. If neither of you are Florida residents, then unfortunately you are not eligible to receive the marriage license discount.
Q: Who is the course instructor?
A: Your instructor is Dr. Liliana Wolf, a Florida licensed psychotherapist with over twenty-eight years of experience working with couples. A former adjunct professor of psychology at Florida International University, author, and relationship expert, Dr. Wolf has been featured in national and international media outlets such as The Discovery Channel, The Health Channel, PBS, and Univision, to name a few. Considered a long-time fixture in South Florida for her work in the community, she is one of the most sought-after relationships experts in the USA. As such, Dr. Wolf has been recognized by Healthgrades as being in the top 1% of health professionals in the specialty of family and marriage, not just in her home state of Florida but nationwide. Most recently, the e-learning platform Teachable has ranked her as being in the top 1% of course creators with close to 10,000 premarital courses sold a year.
Dr. Wolf has made it her mission to provide engaged couples with the best and latest evidence-based, scientific and entertaining course available, at the most affordable price.
The 2021 Florida Statutes
CIVIL PRACTICE AND PROCEDURE
Chapter 61.21 Title VI
5) All parties required to complete a parenting course under this section shall begin the course as expeditiously as possible. For dissolution of marriage actions, unless excused by the court pursuant to subsection (4), the petitioner must complete the course within 45 days after the filing of the petition, and all other parties must complete the course within 45 days after service of the petition. For paternity actions, unless excused by the court pursuant to subsection (4), the petitioner must complete the course within 45 days after filing the petition, and any other party must complete the course within 45 days after an acknowledgment of paternity by that party, an adjudication of paternity of that party, or an order granting time-sharing to or support from that party. Each party to a dissolution or paternity action shall file proof of compliance with this subsection with the court prior to the entry of the final judgment.